top of page

#0007 : The Gospel

Dernière mise à jour : 10 mars 2022

Baptized as a child, I confirmed my baptism in 2016, by tradition. I had finished Sunday school, so it was the logical next step. This was the beginning of my walk with Christ, at first very wobbly and full of rebellion, emanating from my hard heart. I remember, during a catechumenate class, asking question after questions on what bothered me and not being satisfied by the too spiritual answers that the pastor had given me. My heart was really blind and hardened.


But this hard heart, God knew how to change it into a heart of flesh to attach me to Him, and although my walk is still not perfect and will surely never be perfect here on earth, I am grateful for all that He has done in my life and I give Him back all the glory that is perfectly due to Him.


My confirmation verse is found in Romans 1:16: "I’m not ashamed of the gospel: it is God’s own power for salvation to all who have faith in God."

At the time a verse chosen a little arbitrarily, I believe that it is no coincidence that I choose this one, rather than another and I wish to live it fully. I am writing this article to remember this Good News that changed my life and share it with those who would pass by.


I want to remember the Gospel every day:

  • That we, including me, have all sinned, and continue to sin and are by default enemies of God and deprived of the glory of God. (Rom 5:10, Rom 3:23)

  • That the wages of sin is hell, eternal death (separation from God). That we deserve hell because no one, including me, can claim to present ourselves before a just God without dying because we are unclean and full of sins (pride, idolatry, backbiting, resentment, jealousy, hatred, indifference...). (Exo 34:6-7, Rom 6:23, Isaiah 6:5, Gal 5:19-21)

  • That I cannot save myself or redeem myself by my good works. (Isaiah 64:6)

  • That, in his immense love, mercy and grace, God the Father had planned before the foundation of the world to send Jesus Christ, God the Son, to earth, who humbled himself by putting humanity in perfect and voluntary obedience, to suffer in our place the punishment that sin deserves and to save all those who place their faith in Him. (1 Peter 1:21, Phil 2:6, Isaiah 53:10–11)

  • That through faith in Jesus Christ that I confess personally (faith in his birth, life, work, death on the cross and resurrection) my sin is blotted out, I am reconciled to God and I am called his child. (John 3:16, Romans 10:9, 2 Cor 5:18-19, 1 John 3:1)

  • That this work of Jesus on the cross assures me of God's full forgiveness and eternal life, regardless of my feelings, and of a permanent access to the throne of grace of the God of the universe, through my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. (Psalm 103:12, John 5:24, 1 John 1:9, Hebrews 4:16, Romans 8:34)

  • That the Holy Spirit dwells in me by faith, works by making me disgusted with sin, and frees me to serve God, to do what is good: to love God and love others with a sacrificial love. (2 Cor 1:21–22; Matthew 22:37–39)

  • And finally, that I have the hope of eternal life, that the sufferings on earth are temporary because my homeland is not here below but up there where I will see God face to face, he who is the same yesterday, today and eternally. (2 Cor 5:1, Rev. 21:4, Heb 13:8)


Glory to God alone and be all blessed <3

Ziona




26 vues

2 comentários


Ligia V
Ligia V
08 de mar. de 2022

Lovely, thanks for sharing

Curtir
Ziona
Ziona
08 de mar. de 2022
Respondendo a

Thank you for reading ❤️

Curtir
bottom of page